Paleo….day 12

***This week (days 8-12) I am not following the plan exactly because I am out of town on a business trip where most meals are provided by my company. I brought some food with me in case but for the most part will be eating what is provided.*****

*8 ounces of water first thing in the morning! I keep a bottle of water next to my bed so I can get to it before I even stand up.

Breakfast: two scrambled eggs, half of an avocado and two strips of bacon

Snack: banana

Lunch: beef patty with lettuce and tomato, side salad and veggies

Snack: Lara bar

Dinner: Spaghetti squash, broccoli and grilled chicken

This is my last day of traveling for this week. I’ll be back to normal eating habits starting tonight!

I used to be on a really good workout schedule on weekday mornings and I found that I felt better throughout the day when I did this. I got out of the swing of things though and it’s tough to get back into it! Last night I told myself (and some co workers) that I would be down in the fitness room at 6 am. I knew if I told some people then it would keep me accountable. A small part of me thought they would join me but none of them showed up! When I got to the small fitness center, one treadmill was occupied and one wasn’t working. The elliptical was also being occupied but the free weights and the bike were available. I did some exercises with the 5-15 pound free weights and then rode the bike for 20 minutes. I felt good about my workout when I left and that was the goal!

I headed over to the bistro to get my eggs and then headed up to my room. I took the bacon and avocado out of my refrigerator and put them with my eggs. Delicious. πŸ™‚

We had a few hours of meetings this morning and around 9:30 I ate my banana. By 10:30 it was time for me, and the other two guys I traveled with, to head to the airport. Because of the three hour drive to the airport (we flew out of Baltimore), it was about 3:00 before we were able to eat lunch. I had a Lara bar around 2 when I was getting really hungry because I knew that would hold me over.

For lunch, the guys chose some airport restaurant known for their crab cakes. I wasn’t impressed. I ordered a side salad, a burger without cheese and steamed veggies.

First of all the salad was awful. I love salad… But I bet I didn’t even eat half of this salad. My $12 burger came with cheese all over it and the veggies tasted like a stick of butter. Oh, and the water tasted like dirt.

IMG_4778.JPG

 

IMG_4782.JPG

Anyway, we boarded the plane just in time to catch the sunset. I took several photos but I’ll refrain from posting all of them. πŸ™‚

I couldn’t wait to get home. It had been a long week! Dinner consisted of broccoli, grilled chicken and spaghetti squash. One of my new favorite meals.

I drank more water with dinner and tried to get back in the groove from being gone all week. It’s not easy trying to focus on food like that when others are eating anything and everything that is placed in front of them. I didn’t do as well as I could have but I did try. It was my first trip while being on the diet and I think I did pretty well with the self control, resisting desserts. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

