Stuck in a rut…

Several weeks deep in marathon training and 6 miles sounds easy, right? Not when your only option is running in the Tennessee heat. The average temperature over the past few weeks has been about 90. The humidity is still going strong and the sun has been shining quite often. It’s beautiful weather, but not when it’s time to get miles in.

We have been in a bit of a rut for the past few weeks partially due to the weather but also because life seems to have jumped out in front of us with a big ol’ stop sign. After a refreshing vacation weekend to St. Louis last weekend I think we are back on track. When we returned from our trip, Ashley sat down with our schedule and figured out what we need to do between now and marathon morning in order to survive 26.2 miles.

She said “We don’t have a choice…we have to do everything on this schedule.”

She’s right. That motivated me. The next morning I woke up at 5:15 and ran 3 miles before work. I’ve been trying to do that for months and couldn’t get out of bed to do it. By the time I was almost done with my second job that evening, however, I wasn’t sure how I was still standing. Needless to say, when my head hit the pillow, I was out.

Wednesday called for a 6 mile run. Since we had to get up extra early for work anyway, we decided to do the run in the evening. We started around 8 pm when the sun had set a little and the weather wouldn’t be so hot…. or so we thought. By the time we left our subdivision we both had sweat pouring out every which way.

Despite the heat we both felt really good. Not too many problems with the typical hip and foot pain that Ashley has, and my knees, shoulders and lungs, which are typically the parts that test me the most, felt really good!

Then yesterday morning I failed to wake up in time to do a few 200m sprints before work.

Today, Friday, calls for stretching on the schedule. Tomorrow I believe we are scheduled to run 14 miles….

Leave a Reply

